logo.jpg (25774 bytes)




  Tyrone Area High School Wrestling Home Page

60 Years of Tyrone Wrestling

This is just a small historical insight of the Tyrone Area High School's 60 years of wrestling from 1939 through 1998. Tyrone wrestling has been one of District Six's well-known powerhouses for years.

In 1939 Tyrone started its first interscholastic wresting team with a record of 1-2-1. The following year they went 6-1-0, losing only to Clearfield. The following four years proved to be very productive, with a record of 27-6-1. In 1942, they had their first District Champ, Bernard Mingle. The next two years, they had 6 District Champs, 3 in 1943 with 2 State Runner-ups, and 3 District Champs in 1944 with their First State Champ, John Dixon, who beat Stan Thevenet from Bethlehem with a final score of 6-3. For the next 6 years, they had 3 State Runner-ups, and another State Champ in 1950, Elwood Reese, who beat Fred Ulmer from Upper Darby 8-6. 1952 and 1953 produced two more State Champs, Blair Walk and Bill Thomas. Blair beat Reynolds Pierson from Abington with a fall in 5 minutes 7 seconds. Bill beat Bill Evelhair from Hughesville 7-0. The Next State Champ would not be until 1966. Gary DiDomenico beat Geoff Baum from Allentown Allen 9-8. Baum went on to become a two time N.C.A.A. for Oklahoma State.

In 1970, 1971 and 1972 Gib Fink became Tyrone's First 3 time District Champ. Gib was also Tyrone's first two Time State Champs. In 1971 Gib beat Brad Weaver from Easton 3-2, and 1972 he beat Greg Filipos from Bethlehem Liberty 2-0. Also in the 197 land 1972 seasons Tyrone wrest] ing team went undefeated, going 11-0-0 both years. In the 1972 season, Tyrone won their first Central Wrestling Conference Championship.

In 1981, the Tyrone wrestling squad won it first District-Six team title, also winning the Central Wrestling Conference. In 1983, Tyrone won their second District-Six team title, and the Central Wrestling Conference again, and their first Regional team title, placing in the top ten in the P.I.A.A State Wrestling Tournament. Bruce Wallace went on to become Tyrone's second wrestler to become a 2 Time State Champion. In 1982 Bruce beat Greg Wykoff from Huntingdon 3-1 in overtime, and 1983 he beat Tony Tolbert from Wilkes-Barre G.A.R. 12-5. In 1985, Tyrone produced their third District-Six team title, and won their fourth Central Wrestling Conference. Also,kenny Myers would become Tyrone's 10th and Last State Champ to date. Kenny beat Bob Simpson from Warrior Run 9-7.

After 60 years of wrestling Tyrone has achieved 62 District-Six Champions, 16 Regional Champions, 8 P.I.A.A. State Runner-ups, and 10 P.I.A.A State Champions.

Yours in Wrestling, Mark R. Westley


Does your club, team or organization want a spot on the Green Banana MarketPlace? Email us for information on a special program designed for you.


home | schedule | roster | junior high | records | coaches | email

Hit Counter

Green Banana MarketPlace

1998 Tyrone Area High School Wrestling

Site maintained and created Green Banana MarketPlace. All rights reserved.
Questions, comments or suggestions, email webmeister@gobanana.com